British Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies

The Queen’s Green Canopy recognises contributions in British Overseas Territories (BOTs), Crown Dependencies (CD) and British Embassies and High Commissions.

As The Queen’s Green Canopy is a UK-based initiative, our interactive QGC map enables only UK-based tree plantings to be pinned.

However, The Queen’s Green Canopy campaign encourages the sustainable planting of trees everywhere, and people around the world are welcome to undertake their own planting projects as they wish.

Submit a planting

Please use this form to submit your British Overseas Territory or Crown Dependencies planting. If your planting was in the UK, please select 'Explore the map' in the link below.

  • Accepted file types: jpg, jpeg, png, gif.

What is a Crown Dependency?

There are three island territories within the British Isles that are known as Crown Dependencies; these are the Bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey which make up Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man. The Crown Dependencies are not part of the United Kingdom, but are self-governing.

Their constitutional relationship with the UK is through the crown. The Queen is their Head of State and the islands’ Lieutenant-Governor is Her Majesty’s personal representative. The Queen’s special relationship with the Crown Dependencies is reflected by the titles she has in them.


What are British Overseas Territories?

There are a total of 14 British Overseas Territories (BOT), also known as United Kingdom Overseas Territories (UKOT), that have retained a constitutional link with the UK. They are under the sovereignty of the UK but do not form part of the UK itself.

Each territory has its own written constitution and is largely self-governing, but each has a unique relationship with the UK. The Queen is the sovereign of both the UK and the British Overseas Territories, together with the Crown Dependencies.